Cocks in the Hen House: 04.07.2010


“Cocks in the Hen House” is a weekly column by friends of the Chicks that aren’t, well, chicks.  Stop by every Wednesday to see what the men-folk have to say about the weeks biggest baseball stories.

By Steve Nagy (@BigStevie)

So, the Phillies played awesome Monday? I wouldn’t know.

While most of you were having fun in the parking lots of Nationals Park, I was sitting at school fuming over an exam that got pushed back – the very exam that prevented me from attending Opening Day in the first place.

I was having a good time sitting in the library and in class following along online, until the wireless network at school went down and I was reduced to sporadic updates on Twitter.

For all I know this could be one giant joke.

One thing I do know is that the predictions I made Sunday night came true, and Halladay had a very profound effect on the Nationals hitters.  It reminded me of that scene in part two of The Pacific where that one soldier mows down all those Japanese soldiers with the machine gun: YYYEEEAAAAHHHHH.

One thing I did not expect is the backup the offense gave to Halladay. I’m not saying we have a terrible offense, not by a long shot, but history has proven time and time again that hitting takes longer to warm up than pitching.

I’m not going to be a douche here and make all kinds of predictions about what might happen, I’ll just leave you with this:

The way this well oiled machine we know as The Philadelphia Phillies came out firing on all cylinders has me very, very excited for the rest of the season.

Leave a Reply

