Jamie Moyer, My Non-Biological Father


What can I say? I’m just a fan of this old man. And not just because he reminds me of MY old man. I have been a Moyer-supporter from the get-go, even when he occasionally shows his age. I really like the fact that Jamie Moyer has been playing baseball longer than I’ve been alive. I was only three months old when he made his major league debut and now, I’m 24 and the guy is still doing his thing.
 
Don’t get me wrong, I liked the idea of Kyle Kendrick getting the 5th spot, but I also didn’t want to discount the 47 year old pitcher. Now that Heavy B is out for a bit, Mini-Roy can have a few chances to prove himself.
 
But tonight at 7:05, Jamie takes the mound after the injuries that led to operations, operations that led to more operations, and the spring training appearances that convinced the big guys that he is worthy of a starting position. Tonight, Jamie Moyer sets out to prove to the haters that a guy who’s old enough to be your dad (or even if he just resembles him) can still pitch like the young snots*.
 
 
*“Young snots” – an actual term often used by my father

Leave a Reply

