Musings From a Phillies Fan


Attention everyone! I have something to say. Here it is. I’m a Philadelphia Phillies fan and I am not an asshole. Really. I’m not. And neither are most of the other diehard fans I know personally or have encountered. But the rest of the nation seem okay with having a few bad apples to collectively represent us fans.

I’m not even going to spend time talking about the nasty chick who tried to exchange sex for world series tickets via Craigslist. Am I the only one who just wishes she was hot?

Last year we were all shocked and appalled by the beating death of a young man outside of CBP after a game.  A bar sponsored trip gone bad.  Leaving for the game that day, I doubt the man thought about if he would make it home alive. From a Phillies game. A game! A game.

This week alone was a bad week for the reputations of the Phillies fan. Earlier in the week, Joseph Genovese Jr. was sentenced 7-14 years for killing a Cardinals fan while driving drunk after a game.  Could you imagine traveling to see your favorite team play and losing your life over it because some punk doesn’t know how to function in society?

Getty Images

Then today came the news of the 21-year-old from Cherry Hill who  intentionally puked on an 11-year-old girl at last night’s game.  Words cannot express my disgust at this.  So you’re telling me that the reason why I can’t buy tickets to a game is because fine, upstanding citizens like this gent are going instead? Perhaps CBP should have breathalyzers at the gates and not allow anyone in with a certain BAC.

Now before you get on me about being a prude or anything like that, I don’t condone tailgating. Hell, I love it. Drinking beers, grilling, playing washers and wiffleball in the sun with friends is something I look forward to every summer.  But, getting so hammered before you enter the game that you have to eventually force yourself to vomit on an innocent child to make yourself feel better? That’s not fun, that’s just being an asshole.

4 Responses

  1. 100% Agreed!! Great Post

  2. Shhh! We don’t want the national media to find out about this

  3. I wrote a MA thesis on the ans in Philadelphia. It’s amazing what passes for national sports news when it comes to poor fan behavior in Philly and bad fan behavior in other cities. Anyone remember the fan killed on opening day IN THE STADIUM last year? Yea. It happened, but because it’s wasn’t Philly, it didn’t get much notice.

    One a-hole out of 44,000 people sure does represent a fan base. I just can’t stand the attitude the media takes when it comes to Philly. The more they play it up, the more the rest of the country will assume it’s TRUE. There’s unbiased reporting at its best.

  4. http://tinyurl.com/notphilliesfans

    Red Bulls fans don’t know how to behave themselves either, but you don’t hear anything about this on the news.

    Great article.

Leave a Reply

