Cocks in the Hen House: 06.16.10


By @estebomb

I know everyone’s tired of rants about the bandwagon, but too bad, I’m doing one!  I love that the Phillies are a successful team now with a huge fan base.  I love that they can afford to have a $150 million payroll and sell out Citizen’s Bank Park every night.  I love seeing interest in the Phillies throughout Philadelphia.  This is all great stuff, but I can’t take the disinterested idiots at the game anymore.
 
I went to two games on the week of June 7th.  Both beautiful nights and I managed to have a view very close to the field for both.  I had a fantastic time and was glad to go. However, there was one thing that happened that almost gave me an Ian Laperriere style brain bruise.
 
Fans started doing the wave late in a one run game.
 
I’m not totally against the wave.  I’ve participated in plenty of them in my time (mostly when drunk).  However, these were all in games that weren’t close.  Late in a close game is the worst time for the wave. The tension is high, the game is tight, you should be concentrating on the game and cheering as loudly as you can for the Phils, not doing the wave!
 
I understand you’re going to get hop-ons when your team does well, I really do.  The fact is that a lot of these people have little to no interest about what’s happening on the field.  They don’t cheer unless prompted to by the big screen and they glare at me and other diehards when we do.  What is that? I’m not trying to be a snob but when Ryan Howard’s up in the 8th inning of a one run game, a Phillies fan should be going nuts
 
I welcome new Phillies fans.  Come, root for the Fightins, but please watch the game. Pay attention.  Enjoy it.  Cheer.  Don’t go for the sole purpose of getting plastered and acting like an ass.  Don’t go because it’s the cool thing to do.  Go for the love of the game.

2 Responses

  1. […] Cocks in the Hen House – Chicks Dig The Long Ball (This is a pretty interesting series of articles from CDTLB) Great article about the stupidity of some fans at the ballpark. The Phanatic. Irrelevant to this article. But why not, right? […]

  2. […] If you participate in the wave, YOU WILL be ejected!   Phillies sixth. Ibanez homered to center on a 2-2 […]

Leave a Reply

