Sexy Phillies Opponent of the Series: Jason Donald, CLE


You thought this post was going to be about Grady Sizemore, he of the Scandalous Pictures All Over Deadspin Controversy. Surprise, surprise! Once not one but TWO of my Phillies loves got sent out west, I had to listen up and start caring about more than just Grady “Fine Hind View” Sizemore. To me, this series’ Hottie was a no-brainer. Yes, I do think Grady is delectable, and I love Lou Marson & his Heiney, which is so delicious that it deserves to be a proper noun, but this Hottie has been my love since he was a wee Iron Piglet. And now, I present to you, our first ever Sexy Opponent with a two first-name name…

Jason Donald, SS

Cleveland Indians #16

This Californian may be quite new to the Bigs (making his ML Debut on May 18th, 2010), but he is no stranger to the sexy field. In fact, he’s been doing it for 25 years now. Our Phils took him 97th (or Wayne Gretzky minus 2; another sign of Jason’s soon-to-be greatness) in the 2006 MLB Entry Draft. He wasn’t a stranger to the draft world, but when he was drafted by the Angels in 2003, he didn’t sign. He played in the Futures Game over the 2008 All-Star Break at Yankee Stadium as well as on the USA National team at the 2008 Summer Olympics, where he and my beloved Lou took home the bronze medal. Jason started 2009 with our Iron Pigs. That spring, I knew it was love when he lept into the stands near third base to record an out…sigh!!

Marry me?!

On July 29th, I mourned as we shipped Jason along with 3 others including Lou Marson and his Tushie to the Indians. I like to think this was because we had too much sexy on the team and needed to show less fortunate venues some lovin’. At least we got Clifton Phifer Lee in return, a man who will always live in our hearts… and in our craw, darn that blasted trade! On June 2, 2010 – I love when Hotties make the news on my birthday! – he was involved in the stir around Armando Galaragga’s perfect game, having been called safe on the play. He had been convinced he was out but…we all know what happened next.

His career is still in its infancy, so he doesn’t have any fancy titles, or awards, or airplanes yet (I’m lookin’ at you, Dwright). But hopefully as his tenure grows so will his list of achievements. All I know is, there is one achiement that can’t be earned, and that is his place as the Hottest Hottie of the Cleveland Indians.

As an aside, it was surprisingly difficult to find good photos of him in an Indians uniform…all the more proof his beauty should still be here!

AP Photo/Paul Sancya

Leave a Reply

